Skip to content

Camping in Big Bear!

August 26, 2010

When I was a kid I camped A LOT!  As in… weekends away with my girl scout troop, weeks in the summer up in the mountains, and even in my parents backyard.  Then I grew up and out of camping.  During my 4th year in college I tried camping again as part of an architecture studio trip… let’s just say it didn’t go so well.

Since that (horrid) week of camping across the southwest I have avoided sleeping in a tent as though my life depended on it.   At some point this past year I started having the urge to give the great outdoors another chance and with just that small hint of interest I sparked my dear sweet Hashi’s excitement and we (he) went into full camping preparation.  A few days later the site was booked and the orders from REI and Amazon started arriving at my doorstep.  There was no turning back!

I’d like to think that I wasn’t just using cooking as a coping mechanism, but planning our weekend menu got me pretty excited for the trip.  Plus, it opened an entire new world of camping and camp cooking blogs that I didn’t know exist.  Seriously, there is a blog for every topic!

After a few revisions our final menu for our first camping trip was:

Breakfast – Pancakes, chicken sausage & eggs

Lunch – Ham & turkey sandwiches, vegi’s & dip

Dinner – Night #1: Teriyaki chicken, green onion slaw & baked potatoes; Night #2: Carne asada tacos, slaw, vegis & refried beans

Dessert – roasted marshmallows (of course)

Here are a couple of pictures from our weekend in Big Bear.  Somehow we managed to only take pictures of food and not the scenery, campsite set up or lake.   Why am I not surprised?

– spork

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

