Skip to content

backyard travel…

November 16, 2010

I love vacations.  I almost love planning them as much as actually taking them, and when it comes to reliving them I’ve got thousands of pictures for that as well.  Hashi and I are prepping to head out for a long weekend in Death Valley for some good old camping relaxation.   Another little trip checked off our long list of places to see, roads to travel, and destinations to photograph.  This year alone we’ve done day trips to Ventura, weekends in San Diego & Big Bear, weeks up the coast in San Fransisco and still have plans to hit Mammoth before the new year arrives. Don’t even ask about next year… we both have weeks of vacation days burning holes in our pockets!

As I was sorting through my travel photos tonight it hit me… I hardly have any pictures from my own backyard.  For years I’ve wanted to live in an urban setting and here I am in the heart of downtown Long Beach where I drive past tourists on my way home every night & yet I haven’t stopped to walk the streets and take it all in the way I would if I was on vacation.  SO…. in the next few months my goal is to travel a bit in my own backyard.  I’m going to start snapping pictures of the stuff that makes me absolutely love living here, so that years from now I can look back and relive my days of living life in a loft with city lights twinkiling outside my window & smile.

Below are the few pictures that I could dig up.  Each shot is taken looking directly out my window… where on any given weekend I can see a movie shoot happening on the roof of the garage next door, a Brazillian parade, a perfect sunset, or a bike race.  Not to mention the extremely entertaining people watching from four stories up!

*s

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 2:23 pm

    Great pictures! I love backyard travel!

Leave a Reply

