Skip to content

ad hoc

December 14, 2010

I’m going to have to call myself a fail in the eatin’ out department.  After all, it was September (see Spork’s post) when you last saw mention of the not so San Fran trip.  Well that trip was a multitude of things, it was Spork’s first time over the GG bridge, my first time to alcatraz, and to end it all with a bang, Spork+Hashi’s venture up to Yountville.  Tommy-ville is a small town just north of Napa, it’s home to The French Laundry, Bouchon, and, of course, ad hoc.

I had absolutely no idea that we were about to embark on such an epic culinary experience when I started research for our last night on vacation.  Of course, I wanted somewhere a little nicer, only be best for my S, but seriously I had no idea that we were so close to the TK empire.  He’s the man who’s staff researches you before you sit down to his 9 course, $250 per head French Laundry ‘Chef’s Tasting Menu’, he’s the man who grows his own produce across the street, he’s also the man who people make reservations months in advance just for his fried chicken.

I just wanted fried chicken, simple as that, and damnit, who doesn’t like some good ‘ole fried chicken??  (well it’s not really Spork’s thing, but that’s another story)  The meal started with an heirloom tomato salad . . . .and I’m just going to warn you now, there are going to be many of the same adjectives used in this post, i.e. best evar, f’n delicious-ness, etc. and I’m sure those words have left my lips before, but never did they mean it like this.  So back to the heirloom tomato salad, well let’s just start with f’n delicious-ness.  The tomatoes were like candy, I could have eaten them like an apple.

Next up, the masterpiece.

Buttermilk Fried Chicken with potato salad and corn on the cob.  I’m going to just warn you that what you see in this picture was a whole chicken, granted a small chicken, but we had absolutely zero problems finishing this bird off along with the white cheddar corn on the cob you see pictured above.  I’m not sure how the man gets it so plump and juicy, with a crispy skin (twss), but you get the OMG face at first bite.

Lastly, Tommy finished us off with some Chocolate Bread Pudding with cinnamon apple butter.  Let me just tell you that it has a Bouchon Bakery crouissant crust and come’s in it’s own All Clad pan.  I’m not a dessert man, and I’d just eaten over half of a chicken, with sides, but I could not stop.

I’m going to simply say, that this was easily one of the best meals, from top to bottom, that we’ve ever had.

*h

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

