Skip to content

An early morning at the Long Beach flea…

January 23, 2011

I’ve been wanting to visit the monthly flea located at the Rosebowl for a few years now.  But, somehow the thought of getting up before dawn on a weekend to drive to Pasadena was just too much to handle!  Lucky for me I fell upon this lovely blog last year where I learned about the Long Beach flea market.  Turns out that just 15 minutes from our home is the second largest flea in the Los Angeles area.  Second best is certainly good enough when we’re talking about avoiding seeing the sunrise on the weekend!

The LB event is held on the third Sunday of every month at Veterans Stadium.  Gates open at 5:30am for the $10 early bird entrance price.   Starting an hour later it’s just $5 bucks and you still beat out most of the crowds.  Hashi and I rolled up around 7 o’clock and were excited to see a huge parking lot packed with vendors selling every random item you could dream of.  Immediately we looked at each other and smiled… this was going to be awesome!

I’ll admit, a lot of what people sell at the flea is junk, but I think that is what makes it fun… it’s a treasure hunt for finding that perfect piece to take home.   My favorite vendors were those themed with crazy collections of items.  If you want to expand your collection of bottles, military patches, watch pieces, or board game bits then the LB flea is calling your name!

It took us about three hours to browse through the market.   Our hopes and dreams were focused on finding a cheap coffee table we could refinish and a few frames for an art wall in the living room.  Both of those efforts failed, but I did snag a pretty sweet whiskey bottle shaped like a house which will make a nice bookend as well as a few old medicine bottles that will make perfect bud vases.

I can’t wait to try out luck at the LB flea again in the coming months.  I think we might even get up before sunrise and head out to Pasadena.  I’ve got to know what all the fuss is about at the Rosebowl flea.  It must be huge!

*s

… this post means I partially checked off #68 on my 101 list!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2011 6:13 pm

    I love the whiskey bottle shaped like a house…totally random, but super cute!

Trackbacks

  1. Treasure Hunt – Long Beach Flea Market v2.0 « Sporkhashi's Blog

Leave a Reply

