Skip to content

monthly recap 02/2011

March 1, 2011

February is such an odd month.  At the beginning of the month it seems that the year is bright and new with the holidays still fresh in your mind and  then the short 28 days fly by and you wake up to the first day of March and spring is right around the corner.  Hello…??? where is my year going???  Still, those short 28 days did some serious damage to my 101 in 1001 list.  I am so excited at the number of items now in progress and I can’t wait to start crossing things off (and blogging them) in the coming months.

Here is a quick rundown of the good stuff:

#4/48: Signed up for  Indie Biz 3.0.  An online class that I’m super excited for!

#6: finished up my first book in forever. it felt great to get into the reading groove again.  I forgot how much it helps me wind down before bed each night.  I’m still on the hunt for my next good read, suggestions welcome!

#29:  I started meatless Monday’s this month. but I’m doing them on Wednesday because it’s $2 off at the Whole Foods salad bar on Wednesday’s and WF’s is favorite lunch spot!

#36: I finally found a solution for my jewelry collection.  I brought home a random steel construction piece from work and turned it into a hanging rack for my necklaces.  It’s awesome!

#52/57: Hung a shelf & pictures in the bedroom as well as framed and hung photos in the living room  Bonus points for putting up ceiling lamps as well. (hashi is doing exactly that as I type this post!)

#60: Yosemite became the official start of my goal to visit 10 national parks.  I think this one might be the most fun and most likely to accomplish goal on the list… there are a 1/2 dozen on our summer road trip list!

#72: Attend a TV show taping (sort of).  This wasn’t the original plan… but I couldn’t pass up the chance to watch them film CSI Miami up at the roof top pool of my loft tonight.  Seriously, what were the chances of that?!

#73: I haven’t officially gone fly fishing yet, but I did hit up the casting pond with hashi and my brother to learn how to cast.  It was fun (though more difficult than I expected!) and surprisingly easier for me to cast lefty even though I’m right handed!

#93: My first new and exciting food (out of 10) was maguro don.  aka: tuna bowl.  aka: my first raw fish.

I also continued on my quest to cook through an entire cookbook.  This month we tested out a slow roasted pork recipe as well as a roasted beet salad.  In an effort to keep track of the recipes that I test out I created a google document with a list of every cookbook in my collection to which I’ll be adding the recipes that I cook, with the goal of trying out at least 3 recipes from each one. ( I’m considering adding the list to the blog… we’ll see.)  How is everyone else doing with their monthly & yearly goals or 101 lists?

*s

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2011 2:50 pm

    Oh man…your pictures always make me so hungry! You should think about being a food stylist! Congrats on all the goals you crossed off…next year I am totally doing this with you!

    • March 1, 2011 3:57 pm

      Heather… no need to wait til next year. Just start making your 101 list now. Trust me, it takes a while to think of that many things!

  2. March 3, 2011 4:13 pm

    Hope you’ve been enjoying Indie Biz so far Sarah! I haven’t gotten to take part much (I’m temporarily without internet at home since I’m staying with my grandparents for a couple of weeks – FAIL!) but I’m looking forward to connecting more with the awesome people involved. 🙂

    • March 4, 2011 3:40 pm

      Hi Lesley, I think we’ll both be playing catch-up a bit with the indie biz stuff. As soon as class started I got swamped at work & have been too drained to even consider being creative in the evenings. Perhaps this weekend I’ll tackle a few things 🙂

  3. March 4, 2011 6:44 pm

    Looks like you had a busy and productive month! Those pictures are awesome!!!!

Leave a Reply

