Skip to content

monthly recap – 03/2011

April 3, 2011

The month of March decided to fly by in absolute record time. This is sort of weird because all in all it was a fairly calm and low-key month… the type that tend to cruise by at a much more graceful speed.  There have been a lot of weekends at home filled with studying, cooking, and working.  Hashi is blazing through his architectural exams and that has given me time to really focus on my business, which is both much needed and very enjoyable for me.  We have also started focusing on major cooking tasks each weekend in an attempt to fill the freezer with “I don’t feel like cooking tonight meals” as an alternative to picking up unhealthy dinners on the way home.  It’s also allowed me to free up a little “me” time during the weeknights since the fridge is stocked with leftovers most nights.  Of course the freedom from cooking just allows us to spend more time watching tv about cooking… Top Chef aka: best show ever.

As always I have a handful of tasty looking food pictures to share with you.  I’d say the recipes we tested this month were solid and many made it on the must make again list.  The most amazing find were these oatmeal cookies.  They are a perfect example of how a few simple ingredients can create the most perfectly magical goodness.  Do I sound like I’m being dramatic?  I dare you to bake them and not feel the same way. Seriously, do it now and then come back and tell me what you think!

Finally, there is not much to report on my 101 in 1001 list.  Aside from remembering to post a monthly recap (this one), working my way through every recipe in my chosen cookbook, and testing recipes from my growing (thanks mom) cookbook collection there isn’t much to say.  I have a very good feeling that April will be a different story though.  Hashi and I have a camping trip on the calendar, a huge road trip to finish planning, and I’m working my way through a master recipe list / cookbook page for the blog so I can share the progress through my “to-be-cooked” list!  I’m feeling incredibly motivated and excited about some things to come!

*s

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

