Skip to content

long beach (marathon) bike tour!

October 16, 2012

I biked the Long Beach marathon route a couple weekends ago… and you know what…?  I learned that marathoners are more amazing & certainly crazier than I’d previously thought!  I signed up for the event for a couple of reasons, the first being that participating in a bike race is on my 101 to 1001 list and the second was to hopefully improve my time during the bike portion of my final triathlon of the season.  It’s been years since I’ve done any sort of distance on my bike… and yes I realize that 26ish miles is hardly “distance” to most road bikers, but I don’t pretend to be anything more than a casual biker gal.

So how was it? Well, at round mile 5 I seriously contemplated quitting.  I was passing back near the starting area & knew if I veered off course I could pedal home in just minutes.  No, five miles didn’t tire me out… but it did frustrate me. I was prepared for the idea of 1000’s of bikers riding at one time, but I wasn’t prepared for the fact that a bike tour (not race) means most people really are out for a casual ride. Seriously, I’m NOT a fast person but I could not handle the idea of waking up at 5am to simply coast along at well less than 10 mph. Not being a person to quit I sucked it up and settled into casual tour mode. Around mile 11 the course finally hit the open road (as opposed to the bike path) and I pushed my way into a bit of a clearing.  My time was already well over an hour but I decided that my under 2 hour goal was still doable.  So I pedaled and pedaled and found my way to the finish line in around 1 hour and 50 minutes!  For as much as I was frustrated for the first ½ it was well worth it to ride the closed course all over the city I call home.  For a split second I thought… wow it’d be cool to actually run this route some day. Then I realized that was crazy talk! I’ll stick to my bike.

*s

Leave a Reply

